Recommended Reading

Recommended Reading: Dreaming In Chinese (Thursday Thought, Feb 23rd 2012)

Thursday snuck up on me this week. I have a feeling that is going to happen until posting on Thursdays becomes a habit…

I just finished reading Dreaming in Chinese by Deborah Fallows (read the NPR story here–bonus: there’s an excerpt from the book’s introduction after the main article). I was looking for a “before bed” book to read on my Kindle, and this one had been on my wish list for several months.

Written by a Washington, D.C. based linguist who lived in China for several years, the book is a wonderful account of the author’s interaction with the Chinese language and culture. Non-technical and engaging, and filled with personal anecdotes, I would recommend this book as an introduction to the concepts that linguists like to study.

I’d say more, but I wouldn’t want to ruin any of the fun, fascinating bits. If you read/have read this book, please feel free to share your thoughts!

Author’s webpage can be found here.

 

P.S. Happy Birthday Dad!!!

 

Leave a Reply

