Language in the News, Names

Regionalisms in the WSJ

As a linguist, I was VERY excited to see the article discussing regionalisms in the Wall Street Journal this morning.

Frog Hair to Woolies: Dust Bunnies by 173 Other Names

There is even a special mention of the Roger Shuy case I use in my description of Forensic Linguistics here.

Check it out, and feel free to  share your favorite regionalism. Not to age/place myself, but I was excited to see both “skeevy” (I’m an Upstate New Yorker by birth) and reference to the BuffyVerse (Joss Whedon has a fantastic way with words!)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

